In Which My AncestryDNA is Starting to Make Sense

My siblings love to hear what my DNA results are but they don’t want to get to get tested even though Ancestry keeps having sales.  I choose not to broadcast my results anymore because if they don’t want to know why my test doesn’t show that I am not 100% European and shows 12% something else, then, never mind.  Nor will I tell them how much Scandinavian or Iberian came up.  I do know that I don’t have South Asian DNA but someone we are related to does and that is likely a sign of Roma ancestry in that person.

I was contacted recently by a user with a shared match that had an adoptee in their ancestry.  So I have been looking more closely at my DNA on Ancestry.  I am still learning how to use AncestryDNA, and after a year and a half, by looking at my matches and grouping them together with my shared matches by surnames and birthplaces, I know for sure that I am related to my mother, because I match her first cousin and second cousins on both sides of her family, and I am also related to my father because of the Cirone  and Cacciatore matches.

Ancestry started something new this past spring called “Genetic Communities” in an effort, no doubt, to sell more DNA tests.  Genetic Communities are “groups of AncestryDNA customers who are connected… most likely because they descend from a population of common ancestors…For example some trace their roots back to groups of people who were isolated geographically…”  Source:  ANCESTRY.COM.

So, are you ready for my two genetic communities?   Here is my first:

genetic community
Italians in Umbria, Abruzzo & Molise

Here is the closeup:

dna close-up.PNG

My second genetic community is…

dun

dunnn

dunnnnnnnnnnnnnn…..

Southern Italians in which I have 35 DNA matches.

Surprised by either one?  No?  Then AncestryDNA got something right because the most recent immigrants in my tree were:  a parent from Abruzzo and a great grandparent from Campania.  Or maybe the Abruzzese and Campanian genetic makeup are similar?  I don’t know.  12.5% DNA from my Campanian great grandparent is a small amount to put me in the Southern Italian community that easily.  In case you are interested, the other people in the family that had DNA tests at Ancestry (and my family reading this knows who those people are) are not showing up in either of these Italian Genetic Communities.

-pace

cinziarosagenealogy@comcast.net

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

