My 2017 Genealogy Resolutions

Happy New Year!  Feliz Anno Nuovo!  Frohes Neues Jahr!

new years.PNG

Will it be this year?  Will the USCIS fulfill my request for Angelo’s Board of Special Inquiry hearing file in 2017?  Will it happen this year?

It is the start of a new year and time to make our firm oaths of intent to better ourselves in the coming year.  So I ate the lentils to ensure wealth this year.  In the genealogy world that means I resolve to spend less money on genealogical research.  I resolve spend more time sorting and organizing records (yeah right!), maybe have the cash to join a genealogy society or two, including one that concentrates on Italian-American research, and going forward this year in my family history research I prudently resolve to do the following:

In my Swiss German line ~ ~

Finish reading the books I already have on Bernese Anabaptists from Masthof Press before I try to get my hands on more.  Gerichtsshoffe Balthasar Rubli’s parents were banished from the Emmenthal Valley in Canton Bern by the Swiss government sometime between 1675 and 1689.  They left with no possessions and walked for two weeks with the clothes on their backs with hundreds of other refugees towards the promise of religious freedom in the German Palatinate where they raised Balthasar, my 6th great grandfather.  He left the Anabaptist faith and married into a Catholic family.

The story of the persecution of the Rubeli or Rubli appear in these two books:

The Rubeli are also in the Palatinate Mennonite Census of the late 1600s and early 1700s. My ultimate goal is to find the first Swiss Anabaptist in this line.

In my German lines ~~

For Johann Schuttler, my first American ancestor, I am proud he made wagons for the Union Army.  I resolve to never again ask a descendant of his son if they took an Ancestry DNA test, knowing Johann’s second wife, and the son’s mother, was 7 months pregnant when Johann married her, and knowing they had to swear out an affidavit to have him buried in the Schuttler cemetery plot when he died.  Now I know why I never heard from that researcher again!  I just wish I could find the names of Johann’s parents and will not pay a researcher in Germany to do that.

If possible this year, I resolve to fill out more family in the line of the Schultheiss (Mayor) Johann Valentin Helfrich. He was my 8th great grandfather.  His family appears in their own section in this free history book downloadable from the town of Leimen:

leimen.PNG

Valentin’s ancestors appear in another German language publication called Die Helfriche im Grafensteiner Amt that a distant cousin was nice enough to email to me in spurts because neither his nor my email could support it in all in one email.  Valentin descends from a German Junker.  That is a minor nobleman –  something like a squire.  Junker Helfrich was born around 1430 and is my 15th great grandfather.  The book says he was from Leinengen, Germany.  I offered to translate some of the book for my distant cousin.  I don’t know what I was thinking.  It takes me at least two hours to translate one page and there are about 75 pages in the book!

In another German line I resolve to begin research on Marie Louise Koppel, my 3rd great grandmother, mother of the Fritz Eckebrecht from Thuringen.  I would like to work on her ancestry, not the Eckebrechts which dear cousin Frank already researched.  She owned a mill according to Frank.

She is the woman seated in the center in this photo:

Eckebrechtsabt1872

In my French lines ~ ~

There is a 9th great grandfather of mine named Gall Budel.  He was a miller with a first name I have never encountered before.  There is an odd rumor floating around the French-speaking internet that he was also Maire or Mayor of Haspelschiedt, Moselle, France.  I cannot confirm that and resolve to research that.

In my Italian lines ~ ~

I resolve to request the pension record of Angelo Ferraro and to figure out a way to push for Francesco Antonio Ferraro’s military record for his service in the Bourbon Army.

I resolve to continue to search for descendants of Angelo and Filomena in America while waiting for Caserta and Napoli records to go on Antenati.

I resolve to continue to add more ancestors in my Farindolesi and Pennesi tree because it is so simple to do with the records Antenati has online for Pescara.

Speaking of the Farindolesi tree, because my combined trees approach 3000 individuals, and I don’t believe it has been done before with the any of these Italian lines, I resolve to work towards preparing at least one of my trees put into the next new thing in genealogy sites on the world wide web, my own database.  I think it will make researching easier for those that ask me which Antonio Cirone in my tree is theirs because I have at least 5 Antonio Cirone in my tree.  I have used these databases when I work on trees for my relatives, but, none of my ancestors are in one of those.

Finally, when I get the genealogy attention deficit disorder problem I usually get every two weeks or so, while working on any resolutions above, I resolve to finish my cousin’s tree and finish the other tree of a relative who descends from the Soderini of Florence are the subject of this book that I was able to find used for a cheap price:

soderini.PNG

Yes, his ancestors were right there with the Medici.  Happy ancestor hunting!

cinziarosagenealoy@comcast.net.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

