What Grandma said: “SUPPLIED THE UNION ARMY DURING THE CIVIL WAR – SCHUTTLER WAGONS”

Schuttler Wagons, Chicago – For as long as I can remember I had heard that I had an ancestor named Schuttler and he worked for Schuttler Wagons and the pioneers used them to go West.  I knew he wasn’t in the Civil War but I heard that they supplied the Union Army with wagons.  I can remember sitting there in my grandmother’s cottage, as she sat in the chair by the lake window telling me and my siblings of this ancestor that lived in Chicago.  Then she would talk about her ancestor that was taken to live with the Comanches as their butcher that later opened a butcher shop in Chicago.  Then she would talk about ice-skating two blocks away from the Valentine’s Day Massacre and then how she met grandpa.  It was so important about my Schuttler ancestor that Grandma typed it up for her descendants to have.

Schuttler Wagon

When I started my genealogy I found numerous articles about Peter Schuttler and his wagon company.  John Schuttler, my 3rd great grandfather, was his company foreman for many years which included during the Civil War.  I was dismayed to read the Wikipedia entry involving Peter Schuttler and the wagon company where John worked.  It stated they didn’t make supplies for the Union Army.  This was stated many places on the internet.  Wagon collector blogs stated the same thing as did the article on the Chicago History Museum website.  (They all copied Wikipedia!) No really, they all copied it.

I remember Grandma saying “he built the things that the cannon would fit on on a wagon…”  I remember this.  I remember this.

Grandma told us because it was the truth and it is proven according to this Chicago Tribune article dated November 15, 1912 that was describing the razing of the mansion Peter Schuttler used to live in.  My 2nd great grandmother, Katharina Schuttler Eckebrecht, lived there during the Civil War when her mother died.

ChicagoTribuneNov151912

This is the most important snippet:

ArmyWagons

And proven again in this beauty of a snippet from the Chicago Inter-Ocean dated July 13, 1913:

HauntedHouse.PNG

HauntedHouse2

I have a letter to write to a museum in Chicago.

Related: John Schuttler and Louisa Gerbing

-A

Next up (for real this time):  Who is the Daddy?

 

 

 

One thought on “What Grandma said: “SUPPLIED THE UNION ARMY DURING THE CIVIL WAR – SCHUTTLER WAGONS”

Leave a Reply

